I'm confused about organic

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Surfer Joe

Reaction score
I am confused about just what is organic growing and what the benefits are.
Do you need to use a specific soil or nutrients?
Do you need to mix all your own nutes and soils?
Does local water quality affect whether you can grow organic without buying an ro filter system?
What is the benefit of growing organic?
Can you grow organic in hydro?
Thanks for any advice.

I am an organic dirt farmer and this is what I know.

The benefits are I don't have anything synthetic in my grow, thus having a cleaner (imo) grow. I try to eat organic and have an organic yard so it is a natural choice for me. It is just a way of living for me. Compost etc.

You can make it as hard or as easy as you want. You can go Fox farm organic soil like Happy Frog. Espoma makes some good organics that you can add that are organic but kinda hot. Or you can make your own. I have done that. I recycle my soil now and add amendments.

We have a water filter for the whole house. It filters out a lot of junk and that is what i use to water.

I can't say it tastes, burns or anything else better. I don't know. I think it tastes and burns great, but i don't have any to compare with.

I am confused about just what is organic growing and what the benefits are.
Do you need to use a specific soil or nutrients?
Do you need to mix all your own nutes and soils?
Does local water quality affect whether you can grow organic without buying an ro filter system?
What is the benefit of growing organic?
Can you grow organic in hydro?
Thanks for any advice.

Organic basically means that you are using all natural ingredients in your soil, additives, and nutrients--nothing chemical. In the US, most organic products carry the OMRI certification, which certifies that the product has been tested and found to contain no chemicals.