Starting Over!...question about lime?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SensiStarFan

Reaction score
Heeeeeeeeeeeey yoooooooooooooou guuuuuuuuuuuuys!
(That is supposed to be read like "Chunk" from the movie "Goonies")

It's good to be back! I had to move and start over from scratch so I have been gone a few months but I'm happy to report that I have 11 new babies coming along, about 8 inches tall.
I'm about to repot them, and I cannot find my favorite soil anywhere, Pro-Mix BX. I picked up some stuff called Metro-Mix 360, if you have used it I would love to hear your opinion about it. Also, I picked up some powdered hydrated lime but I have never used lime before. What concentraion do I use when I mix it with my soil? Also, is "hydrated" lime ok to use?

-SSF-

Quicklime, the product of calcination of limestone, consists of the oxides of calcium and magnesium, and in the United States it is available in three forms:

* High calcium quicklime--derived from limestone containing 0 to 5 percent magnesium carbonate.
* Magnesian quicklime--derived from limestone containing 5 to 35 percent magnesium carbonate.
* Dolomitic quicklime--derived from limestone containing 35 to 46 percent magnesium carbonate.

Hydrated lime is a dry powder manufactured by treating quicklime with sufficient water to satisfy its chemical affinity for water, thereby converting the oxides to hydroxides. Depending upon the type of quicklime used and the hydrating conditions employed, the amount of water in chemical combination varies, as follows:

* High calcium hydrated lime--high calcium quicklime produces a hydrated lime containing generally 72 to 74 percent calcium oxide and 23 to 24 percent chemically combined water.