HELP! First time grow tent too hot!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chababuds

Reaction score
Hey all,

So this is my first time growing in a tent (small personal grow). I'm using the following setup:

-1 Gorilla Glue #4 & 1 Skywalker x Grateful Breath (both 4 weeks from planting clone) in 5 gal buckets (both have been topped/LST)
-2'x2'x4' tent
-300w Viparspectra Reflector Series LED
-4 2700k 23w CFL & 2 6500k 23w CFL
-Passive intake with Terrabloom 6in exhaust fan at top of the tent pumping 188cfm
-2 oscillating 6in fans
-using Fox Farms nute trio and Ocean Forest soil

So here's the issue. I've been running the exhaust and have the A/C in the room my tent is in on, but the temps of my tent are consistently in the low-mid 80s during the day and high 70s-low 80s during the night. Does anyone have any crafty DIY ways to cool the tent down? I'm thinking some sort of ice in the tent or a portable A/C blowing on the outside of the tent (the tent is in a walk-in closet within my living room with the no door, it gets hotter than the surrounding room).

Also, how do they look for a first time tent grower/first time indoor grow?!

bd05c3a0bae65478674a8b0b224b65ae.jpg
7b514fa277a694022f1eaa7b907558ed.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What are the temps of the room your tent is in? I find my tent is constantly 10-15* warmer than the room its in. So I keep my AC set for 65* and the tent hovers around 76-80. I have a ceiling exhaust fan that I hooked up to my tent that constantly draws 50-80-cfm but if the tent gets above 80* an inline fan kicks on at 440 cfm and the temps drop almost immediately.
Also something I learned about AC if you use a portable one that draws air in from the room then blows it out the window (hot air exhaust), you will create a vacuum in your room that can draw in even hotter air in from the surrounding rooms or attic if your on the top floor rendering the ac pointless.