Hermie, or noob error?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom O'Bedlam

Reaction score
Check the pix. The plants are about 1 week into flower. Anyway, before going to work I look at the plants every AM just to double-check everything. THis morning I see what looks like a male pre-flower on an otherwise female plant. I didn't have time to go over the whole plant and I was afraid theere might be others ready to pollinate, so I amputated the small branch (okay, I panicked. I'm a noob.). You can see female pistils in the pic, but also a suspicious sac-like thing. I've since been over the entire plant with a fine-tooth comb and see NO other odd structures. Is this a hermaphrodite, and if so can I do anything other than kill it? :confused: The structure in question is at the tip of the pen...

IMG_2755.JPG

IMG_2750.JPG

IMG_2746.JPG

stand in your flower room, turn off the lights.

check for any light leaks. cover up all LED lights on surge protectors
and any other electronic lights in there.

if your room is light tight.

you got bad genetics..

What kind of sseeds and where did you buy them?

MrPuffAlot said:
if your room is light tight.

...and if the dark cycle has not been disturbed. I think that many new growers do not understand the importance of total darkness and not disturbing the dark cycle at all. Even a small light leak or a few minutes of light can affect your flowering girls.

If you have other females, I would get rid of the hermie. The reason for this is twofold. First is the obvious--the potential seeding of an entire crop. But second is that yield is more related to your lighting than the number of plants. For instance, depending on strain, you can expect to yield around .5 g for every watt of light, regardless of the number of plants you have (within reason of course).