Buds aren't dense??? Has anyone experienced this?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

49er

My bud looked great all the way through flowering. However after drying, I trimmed it and , with the exception of the colars or the top buds, all of the plants are severely lacking in density. Some are almost stringy. We are using a few 1000 w hps lights. ALso G-13 Strains along with Northern Lights and AK-47...Any help you could offer on what I may be doing wrong would be great.

My setup is 2- 1000w hps covering about 20 plants...Room temp right at 80degrees....My ph has stayed in the 6s the whole way through....Mylar on the walls...We did start off with a 1000w and a 400w. About a month in we swapped a 2nd 1000w for the 400w. Would the increase in light hurt it?? I doubt it myself but I am new to this and by no means an expert. ANy help anyone could give would be greatly apreciated.

Kinda hard to say without pics, but it sounds like you did the same thing I did and prolly could have waited another week or two to harvest.

fluffy, stringy buds are from strain, low light or high heat... or some of each... thas it really... my bud is always a lil fluffy... and i get my hps VERY close to my colas... so i'm thinking it just happens.. if u use a electric trimmer it'll look/feel like the commercial on the street... or freeze dry.

but he wants his buds to grow dense without having to trip 90% of the nugget.

KADE said:
fluffy, stringy buds are from strain, low light or high heat... or some of each... thas it really... my bud is always a lil fluffy... and i get my hps VERY close to my colas... so i'm thinking it just happens.. if u use a electric trimmer it'll look/feel like the commercial on the street... or freeze dry.
thx Kade
Yes density is strain dependant also. but intense light will help. step up on the HPS wattage

Buy big bud seeds...thats a dense strain...kinda like beasters.