Help Writing My Notice to Work

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thorn

Micro Queen
Reaction score
Hey guys, I mentioned a month or so ago how much work was getting me down and how peed off with it all I was. I didn't want to hand in my notice until I had something else lined up really, but I've had no luck so far and work is getting to me even more than ever and I really need to get out before I slip into a bad depressive spell. And don't worry I have been writing to places for a new job and have decided that as much as I hate the place I will sign up at the Job Centre if I don't find anything in a month's time.

I have never written my notice for a job before so really don't know where to start. Obviously I have MANY reasons for leaving but don't see why I should explain to them as I just wanna get out. I want to keep it nice and civil, despite my urge to be rude to them, as I will probably need the reference.

Can you guys give me some tips on what to write please. Any help is greatly appreciated :)

Keep your explanation vague and business-like.

Also, thank them for the opportunity for letting you work there (even if you don't mean it).

I'm not sure what type of setting your work is, but unless you are a higher up they are probably not going to pay too much attention to the explanation. People quit their jobs all of the time. Just keep it civil and positive, like you said, and it will probably be very quick and painless.

Fortunately, i've only had to do this just once.

When i wrote my notice of leave, it was really simple. Short and sweet. It was 4-5 sentences letting them know I was leaving. It was polite, simple, and short. I didn't say why I was leaving.