Lighting and Seed Questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

-C@jun-

Hello,
I am very new to growing anything so bare with me.

I have built 2 basic hydroponic systems similiar to Mr. Green's(I Grow Chronic!) off you tube. I would like to use the exact same lighting.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
VEGGIE

What kind of bulbs do i need to get and ballast. I want to use floresents.
The info I have so far:

T12 Type Bulbs
400watt 3000k warm white 30k lumens
400watt 4100k cool white

Does that sound about what I need and where is the most common place to get these? Or should i go with T8 bulbs? What kind of floresent ballast do I need to look for? Is there a special ballast for these kind of bulbs. I will have 2 4' ballasts 2 bulbs a piece oppisite bulbs in each ballast.

FLOWER

Now for the flower room i'm lost on the lighting. I want to go with a 430watt HPS blue spectrum bulb. Where would i look for the best bulb at and what will be the numbers for that bulb? Do i go with a 400watt ballast and reflector for that application? What are some name brands for the light equipment that is most commonly used?

SEEDS

Now where do i get good reliable seeds? I live in the US, is there problems with seeds going through customs? What is the reprocution if they find the seeds? They'll know where it is going.

I would greatly appreciate any help/suggestions.
Once i get lighting I will post progress with my first grow.:tokie:

Veg-get a metal halide.
Flower-get a high pressure sodium
Seeds-drchronic.com

^yup that.^

Only other advice I have is spend a good month reading the archives in here. Don't ask anyone "out there".

Memorize Rule #1. That's in here. Explained many times. And proven many times.

Good luck.

bombbudpuffa said:
Veg-get a metal halide.
Flower-get a high pressure sodium