Hey need a lil help. greatly appreciated

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joe19406

the weed man
Reaction score
i started growing and i got the stems coming out the seed. it barely covers over the dirt. and ihave a few questions.

1. will ANY kind of light do? i got a desk lamp that bends over and shines on the soon to be plant. its like 3 inches away
2. how often should i water it.

DISCLAIMER: I'm still a NOOB. I'll try to help as much as I can, but if I get something wrong I know someone will correct me. So take what I saw for a grain of salt. :D

1) I don't think just ANY type of light will do. If you have a regular household bulb and try to use that...it will most likely burn your little seedling.
If you want to use that lamp, use a CFL (Compact Flouresent Light). There are some FANTASTIC resources in the "LIGHT" section of this forum. You'll learn what types of lights are best for the Veg stage and the Flowering stage, the different types of lighting you can use, and (IMO) most importantly you'll learn the different terms like LUMENS, Wattages, and the color spectrum (Kelvin ratings, IE: what 2700k and 6500k means)

2) At this stage, you want to water your plant when the soil has completely dried out.

-Hope that helped

wait. i been growing it so far with my regular household light and it seems to be growing. will it grow right with a regular fleorescent light?

wait. i been growing it so far with my regular household light and it seems to be growing. will it grow right with a regular fleorescent light?
Hey joe, sounds like you need to familiarise yourself with the basics first. We have a whole section dedicated to lights ... get stuck in.

You want to use a separate cup for each seed. It is a bad idea to have multiple plants in a single container.

how long does it take a plant to start to bud?
ps. i will go read the light section.