First time grow hydro/aero

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

homegrown99

Reaction score
Good evening ladies and gentlemen, hope everyone is having a spliffy night.....

I have recently decided to give this growing thing a test run as I'm getting tired of everyones **. Anyways here is a list of my setup....

Have "misters" set up to spray the roots of the plants, which drips into a second container underneath. I have 8 nozzles being ran by a 350 gallon pump. I bought a dual air pump to go along with it. A 400 watt HPS light and a 400 W metal halide light.

From reading another post, for a system to be aeroponic the mist must be mist, and not just tiny sprinklers as these seem to be. Is this true? Does it really make a big diff?

Anyways, as stated before, this is my first time and all help is greatly appreciated! Onto the questions..

I germinated 2 seeds about 24 hrs ago by sprouting them with the paper towel method. My question now is what do I do next? Do I put the seed in some type of pod? or is it put in some type of medium? My thoughts were that they grew through just a pod and not for example rockwool....

If the case is that I just grow it in a pod, how do I go about that? transfer the seed into the pod, make sure the pod is moist, water sparingly until roots are seen and then turn on the system fully?

Similarly, if i should use something similar to rockwool, how do i go about that method? is another medium preferred?

Also, I have no problem running the system 24/0 but is this ideal in my setup? or are the roots moistened intervally? if so, what timeage is recommended? What do you guys recommend as far as scheduling goes?

Nutrients shouldn't be used the first two weeks (correct?) But what nutrients do you guys recommend? The less abbreviations the better :D

Is it enough just to put hoses from the air pump into the water or is it the air rock that gives off something special?