Stealth Grow w/ CFLs and Soil 1st Time

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xbc

Reaction score
Hello. I've been lurking around this site for a little bit now reading and gaining as much info as I possibly could. I have finally decided to take the step and start growing myself. This will be my first time growing any sort of plant if u exclude the sunflower I had to grow in elementary school about 18 years ago. Needless to say, I am completely new to this and am hoping that by keeping my grow journal here, I can gain some assistance along the path of earning my "green" thumb. As the title states, this will be a stealth grow. Not in the very early stages as it is going to be built this coming weekend out of an old dresser I have. Anyhow, a few days ago I decided I was going to get started and needed some seeds. Some people buy their seeds from seed banks. Others choose the route of bagseeds. I ended up going the "floor seed" route. That is to say, when me and my buddies are breaking up our green, we tend to just toss the seeds on the floor in his room. He was in the process of cleaning his room so I just started picking seeds up. He helped a bit and we came up with a total of 211 seeds. Yes....it had been a while since he vaccumed, lol. I went ahead and got a clean washcloth out of the dryer at home. I soaked it in warm water and squeezed till the excess was gone. I placed about 20 of the seeds in this washcloth and let it sit. I woke up this morning and checked, and sure enough, I've got one good root, and another one which should be out by tomorrow. After seeing this, I decided it was time to start preparing. I went out and purchased the following items from Menards.
16qt Potting Mix - $3.96
6 Outlet Workshop Strip - $5.95
23W Spiral Daylight CFL - $4.48
23W Spiral Daylight CFL - $4.48
1 to 2 Socket Adapter - $1.88
Outlet to Socket Adapter - $1.35
32oz Spray Bottle - $0.77
12" Plastic Pot Green - $3.49