Starting seeds off in a big pot? Bad idea?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreenBandit

Reaction score
ok so i've read that it's a good idea to start your seeds in a small pot then after a few weeks of growth switch over to a bigger one...logically i fail to see the point in this and was wondering if the seeds will grow normally if planted initially in a bigger pot...it's just that i'd rather avoid the shock to the plants when they're transferred...wat u guys think?

it's indeed better to start with small pots, and after a couple of weeks trasfer them to big pots, the shock is not that big if you're carefull enough.

greetz

I agree with you. I've never read anything that says you have to start in small pots. I always put one seed in a big pot, to avoid any transplant whatsoever. It works well for me.

This is my first time growing and I have wondered this same question.

The only thin I can think of is that the roots will ball up in smaller pots, some people use 4in at first, then 6in and then the final large pot. This will keep a lot of roots around the base of the plant so when you start fertilizing/feeding the roots will grab more of the food as it seeps down through the ball of the roots instead of the food looking for the roots because when starting in a big pot the roots will grow down and out eventually filling the pot with roots but not right away.

Wow, I have to be realy high cause I wrote a reply and read it back to myself and was like. Dude, that's not right. Heh. Let me try again.

When I started seeds in big pots, the roots grew out the bottom before the top filled with roots. Like it was root bound, but it wasnt. It seems to grow down faster then it grows out. Seems like a waste of space. But that's just my guess.