Water Is Everything

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greener pastures

Sticky Fingers
Reaction score
I recently joined this site and I try to read as many post as I can to get more informed and spread what knowledge I have on to others. Thanks bye the way MP this site is most informative with a lot of great minds. Put them all together and this is what you get lots of knowledge.
I notice ,correct me if I’m wrong , but there’s not a lot mentioned about water supply.
I have been setting up and designing live planted aquariums for over 20 years .Some have city water some have well. Most cases depending where you live well water obviously is a much better source . Since I’ve started growing I noticed that a lot relates to each other . Bactria life , ph , lighting , co2 levels ect . In cases of using city water for aquariums you must R/O the water then treat it to adjust ph and add beneficial bacteria back to the water before it enters your tank. If you don’t the chlorine alone kills beneficial bacteria on contact and the fish and marine plants some very expensive shows signs of stress very quickly .If you have a tank you know what I’m talking about .See where I’m going with this. Plants do the same thing you may be simply killing soil life and in return it screws with your ph then your plants start to stress .
On many posts people cant figure out what’s going on . Ph all over ,slow up take of nutes, yellow burnt leaves or lots of calcium build up in hydro systems just all around crappy . Then either pull the plant and rinse the roots off with some more chlorine and chemical filled water or run out and buy 10 different additives when the one thing we over look is WATER.