Rapid rooter or nothing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grodude

Reaction score
I recently purchased some rapid rooters because I thought I was sure that was the route I wanted to go because it is the easiest route (I read) and I am new to growing. I was recently playing with germination methods and I tried throwing seeds in a glass of water as well as the paper towel method. What I saw was that certain seeds germinated faster and then I read about people choosing those seeds because they were growing more aggressively.

Finally, my question: Should I germinate seeds in a cup of water/paper towel to find the best seeds and give it a head start and then drop the seed directly into the clay balls in my aerocloner, or would it be easiest for me to just use the rapid rooters? The rooters would not go to waste either way; I would have other uses for them, just curious what you all think would be best for my situation. Thanks

I just use rapid rooters.
I do not like to handle them when they are in such a vulnerable state.

Same as duck. Fresh seeds should not need to be "pre-sprouted" in water or paper towels. It is easy to damage the fragile tap root and/or pass pathogens to the plant. I plant directly into rapid rooters or medium if growing with soil.

I believe that it would be very easy for the seed to "get lost" if you let it pre-sprout and then try to put it into hydrotron.

I use rapid rooters. I wet them, squeeze them out, drop a seed in them, put in dixie up and cover with saran wrap. Anchor with a rubber band, poke a few small holes in the top , put it on the cable box and in three days you have a baby :)

kraven do you presoak in phd water?

I stopped using them, because i had a bad rate of sucess with sowing seeds in them.