Beginner?? Why not 10 gal RDWC Top fed system???

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CVD1983

Reaction score
As a beginner to the whole indoor thing, I seem to have spent hours and hours, weeks and weeks researching hydroponics and diffrent techniques... Online Forums... Getting advice, Everything I can and the one thing I don't get is WHY do people opt to grow lots of smaller plants rather than 1 large?

I'm only a beginner, I'm on my 2nd grow to be exact.
So definitely NO expert.
My first grow I grew 2 plants.
2 x 10 gal tubs. 1 per plant, Top fed RDWC. 600w light.
I managed to yield just under 10 ounces per plant. And that was with me harvesting WAY TO EARLY. As beginners apparently do lol
I had 4 weeks veg... 7 weeks flower...
All the research I've done, people seem to grow lots of small plants yielding nothing close to that?
Ofcourse there are others that do, but comparing to 80% of what I've read,
Why would anybody not want more bud?
Is there something I'm missing.
like I said, NO EXPERT... Don't want to sound like a flog, just genuinely curious.
Is there reasons I'm not understanding?

20 ozs of dried quality product is a nice haul under one 600 watt bulb and doing it in eleven weeks is pretty awesome........ were your plants from seed or clones .......Yield is strain dependent........ some grow areas are vertically challenged......

Yeah ok, that makes sense I guess, but surely by just training your 1 plant you can keep it at a low height. And with all the extra room for roots to grow, bigger roots bigger buds I would have thought. I might have to try the technique myself and see why people choose this.

Yeah I started with 2 clones...
Had a few issues like Nute and light burn but all a learning experience.
Room temperature was an biggest issue but sorted that with extraction fan.