will all this rain drown my plants ?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skunk

Reaction score
hello fellow planters . wonder if all this rain from hurricane katrina will drown my plants and if theres anything like baking soda that i can apply thickly to help dry roots up ? i am in the lower ohio valley were we got app 1in of rain today and were exspecting 7 or 8 more inches by the time the aftermath hits us . just wondering if not if it would hurt to exsperiment like a bag of all purpose flower or baking soda . just somen to help dry up soil after rain .????????????????

Hey Skunk. So, I'm not the best person to field your question because I'm basically a noob. Allow me to suggest, however, that you just make sure that soil is not washed away around the roots. Sounds like trying to keep it dry with baking soda might be a losing battle. The main thing is to make sure the plants aren't washed away at all. Might even want to put some potting soil around the plant to replace any soil that's been washed away and to absorb water.

Hopefully, you'll get a better suggestion from an expert. By the way, have you had a chance to look at your plants since the downpour started? If so, does everything look okay now?

One more thing to be wary of: I believe baking soda will change the pH of the soil, although I'm not sure if it will push it up or pull it down.

I wouldn't recommend putting anything in or on the soil. Whatever you use is going to leach into the root zone and could cuse problems.
If your drainage is good, they should survive. Though myself have never encountered 6-10 inches of rain in a single storm. My advice would be to attempt to trench around them, so at least they aren't standing, or lieing as the case may be, in the water.
Wishin' you luck, "stinky"