Ebb / Flow - How long, and often, should I flood and drain my tray?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tobyferter

Reaction score
Hello, I am pretty new to hydroponics and I am just now starting my first grow. I am in the middle of setting up all of my equipment but have run into a problem. I was wondering what the ideal conditions were for flooding and draining my system? I am growing Lowryder #2's using big rockwool cubes (6 inches I think) in ebb and flow trays. I am using plenty of light and will start CO2 soon. The question is: How long should the tray be flooded? Should I flood and drain as quickly as possible or should i make sure that the tray is flooded for a minimum amount of time? The next question is: How often should it be flooded? Thank you guys/girls for all your help. I will keep everybody updated! Peace!

How deep is your tray and are you using clay pebbles(hydroton) or hygromite along with your rockwool cube?

...on an hour off two? You can start there and watch to see how your girlies react. If they like it stay the course, if not adjust the times until you think they are happy.

BTW-If you send "Stoney Bud" a PM he can help you. He is the Hydro Master!

Your cubes have to be covered with media of some sort. What are you covering them with?

Light can't be allowed to hit the cubes.

I set my pump to a one hour on, two hours off, cycle.