Growing Marijuana Forum

Bud of the Month, Box of Chocolates - Photo by Umbra!
Go Back   Marijuana Growing Forum > Marijuana Forums > Introduce Yourself
Register FAQ Social Groups Calendar Search New Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 04-17-2008, 02:48 PM   #1
benamucc
is NORML

benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc benamucc
Default Dear Newbies

Dear Newbies,

I have been growing for about 4 months now, and have LOTS to learn. I just wanted to try and share some insight from somone who is going thru the process of getting setup and growing. The following are some things I've learned along the way...

1) Do your homework! Research grow rooms design, venting, air polishing, grow mediums, fertilizers and lighting setup BEFORE any thing ever goes into the dirt/water. This will keep you from abusing, or wondering if you're abusing your little babies. When you're 100% confident you've got your lighting, and temps under control THEN start. Also, if you're picking a strain from a seedbank, pay attention to the difficulty of the strain. They rate them for a reason!!

2) Don't be too confident. Alot of good advice from experienced growers is to be had here. UTILIZE your resources!! Don't have your feelings hurt if someone tells you you're doing something wrong. They're most likely just trying to help.

3) Keep a calander. It's great to follow fertilizer schedules, but if you smoked a couple fatties with your homies the night before, was it REALLY yesterday, or the day BEFORE??

4) Measure twice, cut once. I would consider this a handyman's hobby, and if you're new to using a tape measure, figure out how it works. You'll save yourself alot of headaches if you go in with a plan. (you should have seen what happened when I built a custom cabinet that ALMOST didn't fit thru the door) ALSO, same goes for NUTES. Just check out my SP / Haze grow to see what happens when you mix nutes after some bong rips...