Old dirt

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonnylorenzo

Reaction score
What should I do with my old dirt? Just throw it out or should I keep it?

I have been using the same soil for 5 years now. I just add amendments

Really? When the plant is over and its all rooted up? Just shake it off? What do I keep it in?

I keep mine in a couple of 55 gallon trash cans.

Used my old "Sunshine Mix #4" for my tomatoes and peppers, they seem to love it. At the end of the outdoor growing season, the "Sunshine" will get spread around the yard as fill.

i have one of those big black plastic composters that you can turn... I add to it all year and add amendments in the spring.

Plastic 55gal boxes are perfect cos you can get the ones with lids and stack em up . I average only one new bag per grow . The rest is recycled like duck said.

Amigo,

When used, I take soil and either lay it out on the concrete or in a large container in the sun.
Let it sit for a few days so the sun will clean it and dry it. Turn it daily picking out all the roots by hand and when dry put it back in a 50Lb sack.

The Poet...♪

You won't believe how much dirt you can extract from a root ball. I use a very sharp trowel and up inside the roots there is a lot of dirt. Reuse it. It makes a great base for new soil.

Then I just have to go buy all the things that I have to put in the dirt my self :/

Listen to duck.

Quality cow manure, shroom compost, dolomite lime,blood/bone meal, perlite if there is none as well as worm castings and your golden!

If you are too tired/busy/bored to add amendments you may be too tired/busy/bored to grow pot.

Love makin dirt( soil), it is the best.

Where do I get quality cow manure and the shroom compost?