Question about male plants

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Surfer Joe

Reaction score
Hi to all.
I'm new to growing and tried a few feminized autoflowering seeds to see how I got on.
I had them in different size pots to test what size I might want to use again, and I already think the pots are too small, but now they are flowering and I don't think that I should put them in a larger pot.
The one in a tiny pot suddenly became a male so I separated it from the others because I didn't want it to pollinate the females, but I read that it's not an issue with autoflowering plants, so I was wondering if it's ok to put it back in with the rest?
I am interested in seeing it grow just to learn, and also wondering whether it is worth trying to harvest and smoke?
Thanks for any advice.

Surfer Joe said:
Hi to all.
I'm new to growing and tried a few feminized autoflowering seeds to see how I got on.
I had them in different size pots to test what size I might want to use again, and I already think the pots are too small, but now they are flowering and I don't think that I should put them in a larger pot.
The one in a tiny pot suddenly became a male so I separated it from the others because I didn't want it to pollinate the females, but I read that it's not an issue with autoflowering plants, so I was wondering if it's ok to put it back in with the rest?
I am interested in seeing it grow just to learn, and also wondering whether it is worth trying to harvest and smoke?
Thanks for any advice.

What size are the pots? I grow regular strains in one gallon pots and do fine and they are in those pots for more than 10 weeks...sometimes 12-13.
I used to grow autos and ran those in one gallon pots as well.