Cyber Security Myths and Tips

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

New_2_Chronic

Gone Baby Gone
Reaction score
I am an IT professional with over 15 years of Technology experince. I build and secure networks wordwide. I also conduct e-discovery and forensic data retrieval and wanted just to throw out some info on the myths I have been seeing here.

First of all do not get paranoid. The NCSD ( National Cyber Security Division) is about the only agency worldwide with the resources and abilities to track you down in cyber space. They however spend most of thier time combating virus outbreaks and attacks that threaten the stability of the Internet and worldwide communications. And of course tracking down terrorists!:ignore:

Local and federal agencies do not have the equipment or resources to pinpoint your location via the internet. Let me quantify that,,,,,

The most common way for people to get busted on the internet is to reveal thier true identity or identifying information somewhere and it is found by a local agency and they come a knockin,,,most likely with warrant in hand for your computers and stroage media. This is how they get the rest of the information to carry a case. (The odds of this happening are highly unlikely)

The second most common way for people to get busted or identified is to be investigated for other charges, they come get your computer, and boom your busted for something totally unrelated. (This is more common)

Internet Browsing:

First and foremost your internet browser habits are pretty safely confined within your computer. You can be hacked and monitored, but this is highly unlikely as in todays Hacking Trends Hackers are targeting businesses and corporations rather than individual homes. Again it will be a hacker that gets you, not the LEO....