? on venting to the attic

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tallandy78

Reaction score
I am a newbie grower and have to vent my exhaust fan to the attic because my room temps outside my grow tent are way to high. I have passive intakes that pull that hot air back in. I am cautious about how to properly vent in my attic. Is it as simple as cutting the proper size vent hole in the sheetrock and then stuffing the ducting through it. I would worry about times when the fan is off and dust and bugs could get in. I could use any advice/suggestions you may have. Thanks

3x3x5.5ft grow tent
400w hps 6" cooled reflector
440cfm inline fan connected to one side of reflector, sitting on top of the tent exhausting towards the door out to the hallway.

I am not an expert but I think that venting into an attic would cause black mold, need to vent to the outside.

What about something like a Rain Blocker for a tractor.
hxxp://i22.ebayimg.com/02/i/000/f9/02/13ec_1.JPG
hxxp://farm1.static.flickr.com/191/468869389_c0b42b4597.jpg?v=0

I would get a duct reducer--if your duct is 6" get a 6"to8" reducer. Put a piece of window screen over the larger (8") end, duct tape the crap out of it on the sides to hold it in place.

If you don't have a decent circle marker or a compass then use the 6" end to mark your hole (not a great idea because the reducer is flimsy and never a perfect circle). Use a hole saw (cheap at H Depot if you don't have one) and stay exactly on the line you've drawn--wear a hat and safety-glasses because if you're in an old house, you're about to be dusted with bug and vermin dookey among other old and creepy things when the circle of drywall falls on your head. And leave the circle in the attic by the hole in case you ever need to patch it.