THC and Temperature

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Caretaker

Rx THC
Reaction score
I have been interested in making some baked goods with a kick. But I have a small issue with THC burning out after that 170F point. How much difference does it make if you use little to no heat VS. baking with brownies or cookies or cakes. Is it really worth it to lose the potency for a baked treat? I was also wondering if I can soak the green in some olive oil and vegitable oil for a month or so and drop some on a sald or something and have it take effect. Or would i have to simmer it in?

I'm not an expert baker by anymeans, and have never done any experimenting with THC evaporation. Varying the temp of a specific baked good usually doesn't produce good results from a culinary aspect. I'd stick with the recommended temps and times for baking, but look for items that require a minimum of baking. Stay away from simmering, cuz your THC is gonna go up in steam. Brownies seem to be a big favorite, cuz the batter remains thick and moist, and if some THC does evaporate its more likely to be absorbed by the brownie itself. Cookies would be a distant second place to brownies. An oatmeal cake or carrot cake might work, or anything that remains pretty moist when finished. Also there are no-bake brownies and fudge that might give ya the kick ya want.

You might also want to explore making your own granola/trail mix kind of stuff. It uses very low temps to finish the product.

Your idea of putting weed in olive oil for a salad dressing is intriguing. I'd encourage you to try it and report back what you discover. This makes me think about vinegrette where various spices are soaked in vinegar to impart their essence. I don't know what the acetic acid in vinegar would do to THC, might might be worth a try, too.

Thinking outside the box, I like that. Good luck with it.