A.P South Africa

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I played rugby in college for a season. An English dude taught me in my first practice how American football style tackling is not a good thing when playing rugby by almost crushing my head…
I took a course in college called ' Nope ! Don't do it !" and they advised against that and recommended girls volleyball and gymnastics as a spectator sport .

Me either. I went to work. Big brother went for four years, got a job, and the job paid for college classes pertaining to work off and on for almost his entire career. . I retired at 50. He retired at 67. Pays to be dumb, huh? :)

Me either. I went to work. Big brother went for four years, got a job, and the job paid for college classes pertaining to work off and on for almost his entire career. . I retired at 50. He retired at 67. Pays to be dumb, huh? :)
I graduated a year early and had a scholarship to attend the first of its kind microelectronics engineering program in the world at RIT so it was a no brainer to go. I have one son who went the college route who is making great money but would go the trade school route if he had it to do over again. I regret not encouraging that to him. He is ambivalent about his job. My other son dropped out of high school (with our blessing since school was not his thing) and is making a good living AND loves his job. Being happy is better than making bank and being ambivalent in my opinion.

I did a diesel mechanic trade school mid '70s to be a bit more than just a roustabout/floorhand on an oil drilling rig ... a lot more $ during that era.

about three years later my cousin got killed on a rig, then a week later one of my best friends got killed on a rig .. i quit