Am I set up for failure already?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ebbandslow619

Reaction score
1556300068324689921649.jpg
15563001029721087328040.jpg
Before I get into a ton of details this is what I'm working with. Using a seed I found rather than the ones I paid for because I'm a beginner. Germinated in rockwool, planted in hydroton, flood eight times a day for 5 min periods, and using FF nutes. It's growing really good right now (start of week 3) besides I adjusted the pH last night and it apparently didn't like it so I just put it back hopefully it'll perk back up after the next cycle or two. But I don't think the roots should be doing this THAT much, it was a few at first, so i suspended it from the lid while also making it dark down there hoping the gap of air would make it prune and the roots look back in the pot for water but it had other plans. Is this a set up for failure? I'm still going to try it as long as it'll make it, but wonder what I should be expecting.

Im having trouble telling if that is nutrient stain or root rot. Is it slimy at all?

If you're talking about the overflow, it's press&seal lol. The extension was too much so I improvised. Usually I clean the res and tray every week when I remix nutes. The cords and tubes below the tray in the res are slimy when I clean though.

If you're talking about the overflow, it's press&seal lol. The extension was too much so I improvised. Usually I clean the res and tray every week when I remix nutes. The cords and tubes below the tray in the res are slimy when I clean though.
The walls are just powdery nute stain I believe

You'll want to keep light out. Top off the hydroton, maybe add some H2O2 to the res. PH shock is a thing.