Anyone useing the "Smart Pots"?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hushpuppy

Dr MadBud
Reaction score
I am curious about the smart pots as they are supposed to be made of fiber that water and air flow through freely. Does anyone using these have roots come through the fabric? I want to use them in a hydro setup with coco coir inside so that I keep the coco out of my resevoirs. thanks :)

smart pots as they are supposed to be made of fiber that water and air flow through freely.

Yes.

Does anyone using these have roots come through the fabric?

Yes especially if in contact with each other or a moist bottom surface.

Smart pots are designed to "air prune" the roots, so yes, roots come out. I have no idea how they would do in hydro. I love um for dirt though.

Thanks much guys. I have been using coco for several years now and love it, but I have always had to do something to keep it in my pots as it will fall through even very small holes. And forget about using it in netpots unless ya have something that will keep it in as it will fall through and get in the pumps. I thought about getting the smart pot bags and use them to hold the coco in while allowing the roots to come through to hang into my enclosed totes. In the totes they stay wet and dark so they don't air prune. :)

That is interesting. If you look at the roots of a finished plant in a plastic pot, the roots can be very thick and circling. .With smart pots they are very tiny feeder roots. Let us know if you try it.

new user. love them. although mine are generic smart pots from htg.

Hushpuppy...... I bet burlap or some other fabric could be used to do what your trying to do. I want to get some smart pots to do SOG this fall...... not sure what kind or what size to get yet.