Busted

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mindtrip

Reaction score
Noob here (of course), and feel free to relocate this thread if necessary.

What typically gets a small grow busted? Word of mouth? Electricity increases? FLIR flights?

As far as the FLIR flights go, it's hard to do much research. Yes, the technology is out there, but figuring out how prevalent it is in law enforcement is difficult. Most of the busts you read about in the news are GIANT operations. But that doesn't mean that small grows aren't busted and just not talked about.

Anyone got any credible info? Google mainly just brings up conspiracy theory sites. Thanks in advance.

Here is what gets small growers busted:

The #1 reason--Loose lips--people telling people who tell other people who tell other people who...
Not controlling odor.
Not disposing of plant waste adequately
Not keeping growing paraphernalia and supplies hidden when you do not do outdoor gardening or in winter.

People do not get busted because:
They have high power bills (but pay your bill on time)
Ordered seeds or growing supplies online
FLIP flights

Thanks, THG. I guess I'm looking for reassurance like that, as well as actual stats. Horror stories abound on the internet, and it's hard to know what's legit.