cfl grow. too much light?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrhud88

Reaction score
im going to start an indoor grow in a wooden box I made. dimensions are 2'x2'x4'. got the inside painted flat white, outside black. im an electrician so wiring is not a problem. I currently have planned 13 total lights to provide my lighting and the wattages are as followed: 1-64w, 4u, cool white cfl ; 2-26w, spiral, warm whites; 2-24" tubes, cool white; and lastly 8-13w, spiral, warm whites. I have a small computer fan(3") for ventilation. my question is this: too much light? or am I good? Ive done things with 115w vho tubes before and got great results and this is my first time using cfls. im intending to try 2 plants max and all lights will be arranged in the top of the grow box and plants will be lowered as needed. any feedback will be great.:cool:

You need to know the lumens the bulbs put out. However, I can tell that it is not too much light. They may produce too much heat for your space however.

Lighting needs are figured as lumens per sq ft. For vegging you want a minimum of 3000 lumens per sq ft and flowering a minimum of 5000 lumens per sq ft. Many of us run more. So, figure your lumens and see what you have.

Have you purchased your lights yet? I would sure rather see you use T5 HO tubes rather than CFLs. Lumen for lumen, CFLs pretty much cost the most to operate, run the hottest, and produce the least. I doubt that a 3" computer fan is going to be capable of keeping your space cool enough if you have adequate light.

The Hemp Goddess said:
You need to know the lumens the bulbs put out. However, I can tell that it is not too much light. They may produce too much heat for your space however.