Complete noob; Creating a grow Space

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mleiter

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have decided I would like to try my hand at growing. So as an experiment I want to try out growing 2 plants. I have never done anything like this. I do not even grow a normal garden. Since this is just an experiment, I hope to keep the costs down as much as possible. If it turns out I am good at this then I do have the means to make something more extravagant. But for now I am doing this on the cheap. As a final thought I never want to have any more than what I can use myself. I do not foresee myself converting the entire room over to this. So any help you can give would be much appreciated.

First things first, before getting to the grow part, I would like some advice to growing a couple plants in the space I have. What I have is a spare bedroom in the second floor of my house. This room is completely unused other than as storage for some random items. This room is 10' x 11' with a 9' ceiling. There is a 2'w x 4.5'h window located in the center of the east facing wall. This room also contains a 2' x 6' closet with a standard door on the west facing wall.

How much space to I need to reserve to grow 2 plants?
Does the area need to be completely contained?
Does light need to be 100 percent controlled? Will that mean I need to build an enclosure?
Can the closet be used? How?
I do not allow smoking in my house and I own no pets, will odors be an issue?
These are just some starter questions. I hope you guys are patient. LOL

Thanks for any help you can give.

I grow in a small cabinet not quite 3 ft wide nor 2 ft deep but about 4 ft tall or 5...I use an LED setup but on the cheaper you could use a T5 fixture or some such to experiment with...Maybe a tent or even closet...there will be more ideas forthcoming Im sure...