Height Concerns, what to do ?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big Mother 40

Reaction score
Growing her in a 20 gal. tub with a mix of native soil and Kellog's Blue Ribbon blend. She gets a weekly feeding of Gro-Power and is pushing like crazy. I am concerned she is going to far exceed my fence line and present some security issues. I am considering topping her across all the colas in an attempt to keep her a bit shorter and provide her lots of bamboo support poles when she flowers. I am somewhat new at this so any ideas or comments would be appreciated. Thanks !!!!

Attachments

• IMG_4010.JPG
    IMG_4010.JPG
    96.1 KB · Views: 22
DON'T TOP YOUR PLANT---after a good watering you are able to gently bend the tall branches over---even if the branch folds over it will continue to grow---another option could be to lean it sideways onto a brick or 2--- growing it sideways like a hedge---you could put it upright to water and lay it back down in the same exact position---the branches will adjust upward on their own

Orangesunshine,
Assuming I began to pull her branches to grow horizontally what method would you use to support the flowering colas as they grow upright from a horizontal branch ?

let's cross that heavy cola support road when you come to it---it was my understanding you are dealing with a height issue right now---bending branches---lying the pot down to grow a hedge---growing sideways like a grape vine---or loosely tying a collar line to a branch with a rock on the other end will keep your height down---when the plant begins to flower---the upright growth will slow considerably---then you might consider using all those bamboo stakes you mentioned to hold up heavy colas

don't freak out if a branch snaps when you are slowly bending it---you can mend it very quickly with a splint---i like zip ties---some use duct tape