How often to you regenerate the mother?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Old_SSSC_Guy

incorrigible reprobate
Reaction score
I've been using a couple of mothers (from seed) for maybe 6+ months now. They are getting too tall and way too bushy, and it looks like its time to regenerate new moms. Made be curious about...

How often do you regenerate a fresh mother plant from one of its babies?

I'm not sure I really understand the question. Just take a clone and designate it as your new mother. Flower the rest.

yeah I regenerate every time its ready to flower the plant...I dont keep mothers as they are all moms in my Shed...

take care and be safe

Old_SSSC_Guy

Great thread title and topic. I was wondering the same thing recently and hadn't gotten around to asking yet.

Silver B, THG and 4u, are you saying that you simply take clones of the current plant each time and then rinse and repeat? How many clones do you usually take?

I'm having a blast with the clones I've started. Gives me something to do while the lights are out in the flowering tent. I ended up with way too many, but I'm using them to experiment and learn. Having 3 of each strain to play with takes some of the pressure off.

I don't keep mothers--I simply do not have enough room. I take clones from clones.

Yeah, I know. But maybe I don't understand your answer. Are you saying you pull a batch of cuttings from one plant, then save one and flower the mother and babies; and do that each cycle? Just would not have the amount of return for me that one single mother does over time.