Hows this setup sound

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h2o

Reaction score
Hi also new here but ive been growing in soil for a while, now im trying my hand at hydroponics.

Well i started with this

2 10 gallon fish tanks
2 10" air stones
7 cups in each
1 big air pump
8 40w compact flourescents at 1600lumens each
perlite
exhaust fan
75*/ 65% humidity
5-10-5 water soluible fertilizer
ph levels vary from 6.4-6.8

how does this setup sound? this is a water culture system, I already germinated the seeds and planted them in the perlite, this is my second day hoping to see a sprout by the end of the week. Any tips and advice is welcomed as this is my first try after lots of reading. Also down where i'm from we dont have to much grow shops its either walmart or homedepot, so what else can i use as nutrients in the water? will the soil fertilizer break down enough in the water?

Firstly, if you intend to go through the whole cycle in these cups you won't have enough room for roots, they will grow, and they may even stay alive until you finish but they will be very limited in size/vitality once the roots fill the cup, minus the space whatever medium you are going to use takes up.
I'm not sure about using soil ferts. in hydro. I guess it would work but I would be concerned about knowing PPM levels and such before I used any. I would suggest ordering some nutes on-line.
Ph of 6.8 is a bit high for my liking, I keep everything around 6.0 and usually don't have any problems.
Do you intend to have the cups sitting in the water all the time as it bubbles? If so you will need to top feed them until they get roots to the depth of the water.

h2o said:
Hi also new here but ive been growing in soil for a while, now im trying my hand at hydroponics.
Hey h2o, good to meetcha. I love hydroponics man. Over the years, I've seen hundreds of systems in every flavor you could imagine.