Advertise On Marijuana Passion

Lighting a 10' x 10' space

YYZ Skinhead

RIP Neil Peart 9/12/1952 -- 1/7/2020
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,914
Reaction score
309
Location
HeIl, California.
This diagram is in Discount-hydro.com 's current catalogue. It shows growroom lighting and spacing for a 10 foot by 10 foot space with 400 watt, 600 watt and 1000 watt lights respectively. My budroom isn't nearly this size--it is 4' x 4'--so I would cut the number of lights in half, but this may be a good basis for discussion.

dh1.jpg


dh2.jpg


dh3.jpg
 

getnasty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
656
Reaction score
37
I recall reading that if your space is over 6x6, to use a 1000w. A 600W is aadequate for up to and including 36sq ft with 2500 lumens per sq ft.
 

YYZ Skinhead

RIP Neil Peart 9/12/1952 -- 1/7/2020
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,914
Reaction score
309
Location
HeIl, California.
The main thing I wonder is how I would power 3200 to 4000 watts. Could an average bedroom draw that much power by itself without blowing a fuse? :confused: I could easily use my spare room for a space that size, but would I need to draw power from two different rooms and synchronize timers for above 2000 watts? I am afraid to try.
 

Hamster Lewis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
16,529
Reaction score
3,731
Well I hve been flowering in a 4x4 tent for a while now and what I hve found is a 600w HPS will work but I run a 600w and a 400w in there and I wish I had two 600's instead of the 6 and 4. I like the idea of two 600's over a 1000w also because you get a better light spread. jmo
 
R

Roddy

Guest
YYZ Skinhead said:
The main thing I wonder is how I would power 3200 to 4000 watts. Could an average bedroom draw that much power by itself without blowing a fuse? :confused: I could easily use my spare room for a space that size, but would I need to draw power from two different rooms and synchronize timers for above 2000 watts? I am afraid to try.
I'm running 2000w off one outlet in my basement.

Edit that, I'm running 3000w, but using 2 sources.
 
D

dman1234

Guest
I run 2 600's in 4x7 i wouldnt want to be even 1 foot bigger, IMO 600's are the way too go.

I have had to poke a small hole in the wall to draw power from another breaker, especially in the summer when the AC needs to be on.
 

Hamster Lewis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
16,529
Reaction score
3,731
PuffinNugs said:
id take the 2x600 over the 1000watt, you get more light spread and more lumen to watt ratio with the 2x 600s. like 35,000 more lumens for 200 watts more, something like that
I agree....I don't even consider 1000w HPS's when looking into lighting. 600's rock. Best lumen to watt ratio.:)
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
19,438
Reaction score
8,292
getnasty said:
I recall reading that if your space is over 6x6, to use a 1000w. A 600W is aadequate for up to and including 36sq ft with 2500 lumens per sq ft.
It's all about the lumens. You want 3000 lumens per sq ft for vegging and 5000 lumens per sq ft for flowering--2500 just isn't enough. You would need at the minimum, 2 600w in a 36 sq ft space. I will agree 2 600s will probably spread the light better than 1 1000W. The difference in lumens per watt is small (if any). Most 600w HPS put out 90,000 lumens--150 lumens per watt. Most 1000W HPS put out 150,000 lumens--150 lumens per watt. I just got a new 1000W bulb that claims 155,000 lumens.
 

Hamster Lewis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
16,529
Reaction score
3,731
The Hemp Goddess said:
It's all about the lumens. You want 3000 lumens per sq ft for vegging and 5000 lumens per sq ft for flowering--2500 just isn't enough. You would need at the minimum, 2 600w in a 36 sq ft space. I will agree 2 600s will probably spread the light better than 1 1000W. The difference in lumens per watt is small (if any). Most 600w HPS put out 90,000 lumens--150 lumens per watt. Most 1000W HPS put out 150,000 lumens--150 lumens per watt. I just got a new 1000W bulb that claims 155,000 lumens.
I guess this wld be a case where cheaping out on the bulb wld hurt. Most of the 1000w HPS bulbs I hve seen are 130,000 lumens...but I shop on 1000bulbs.com...:)
 

YYZ Skinhead

RIP Neil Peart 9/12/1952 -- 1/7/2020
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,914
Reaction score
309
Location
HeIl, California.
This is precisely what I was after: folks who have run growrooms that size and smaller using the various sized lights all pitching in. I have a 400w HPS, a 430w agro HPS and a 1000w HPS. I keep seeing good reviews from people who use 600w here, and there are always 600w units on Craigslist, so I see a couple 600w in my future.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
19,438
Reaction score
8,292
This is like the bulb I bought: hXXp://www.ebay.com/itm/1000-watt-SUPER-HPS-HYDROPONICS-GROW-LIGHT-BULB-/330598977204?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cf93c0eb4

I am going to be putting the 1000W in my main flowering room and one of the 600W in the new flowering space I am setting up. I have everything I need to set the ventilation up and it is starting to get cold enough at light to look at some auxilary heat in the rooms.
 

purplehaze66

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
I use 2 4 x 4 flood trays and over each one is a 1000w hps, and my plants are happy campers. I make sure not to let them get closer then 18 inches or it gets to hot on top.
 

kiksroks

Fat Farmer
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
284
Reaction score
11
YYZ Skinhead said:
This is precisely what I was after: folks who have run growrooms that size and smaller using the various sized lights all pitching in. I have a 400w HPS, a 430w agro HPS and a 1000w HPS. I keep seeing good reviews from people who use 600w here, and there are always 600w units on Craigslist, so I see a couple 600w in my future.
Why not just run the 1kw hps in your 4x4 flowering room?
 

BBFan

Days of Wine and....Roses
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
2,075
Reaction score
1,006
You would be fine running 2- 600 watt bulbs on a standard bedroom circuit of 15 amps (check your panel); load would be just over 10 amps on a 120 volt circuit. Depends on what else you may be running on that circuit- fans, etc.
 

Latest posts

Top