Lighting upgrade

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve1

Reaction score
I have a 4x4 grow room that is 6' tall and a 400 watt led full spectrum light. I know I did a number of things wrong with this grow because I'm still learning but should I go with a more powerful light the next time around? The plants definitely didn't grow to their full potential. I know it wasn't all lighting issues. Or is a larger light too strong for a small grow room? Thanks in advance

Steve I don't think we've crossed paths -- A belated welcome to MP !-- Yes more light -- about a 1,000 - 1,500 LED watts per square yard/meter -
Also some ventilation-- Temp OK ?-- Humidity ?-- Young plants U can have the light farther away

LED wattages are deceiving. A lot of manufacturers will use the wattage as a comparison to HID lights(like a 400 watt HPS is probably what the manufacturer of your LED is saying). I am sure you could go with more light though. I am pretty sure most everyone on here would like more light in their grow space. More good light usually means more and better buds.

Steve1...

Howdy, I use a 400w hps and will never get rid of it, in fact this is the second 400w I've bought. The last one lasted 25 years. This one cost $100. used, with a better hood

My 'room' is about 5' x 7'. My 400w hps covers a 3' x 3' area and doesn't need anything but a fan on a milk crate.
If I had a 600w I'd need fans and blowers, duct work everywhere.
I don't know anything about leds.

Your 400w is fine. It is capable of 10 ounces every 2 months.
I use super soil.
Luck...

Thank you...

The Poet...

Last edited:
Steve I don't think we've crossed paths -- A belated welcome to MP !-- Yes more light -- about a 1,000 - 1,500 LED watts per square yard/meter -
Also some ventilation-- Temp OK ?-- Humidity ?-- Young plants U can have the light farther away