My soil PH

techrons78

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
435
Reaction score
3
My soil that im ph at 6.4 or 6.5...I checked my run off of 2 of plants one was at 5.8..other is 6.0...so I want my run off to be what im putting in the soil? If it needs to be higher what do I do..tech
 

umbra

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
12,295
Reaction score
14,084
add lime to the soil
 

BenfukD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
329
Reaction score
0
I don't check run off....I do as umbra mentioned...1 tablespoon per gallon soil is what I do.
 

Droopy Dog

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
555
Reaction score
156
How much per gal? How do u dose them with lime?
*I* add 1 cup/cf, or, 2tbl/gallon of mix.

Adding it to the soil mix before planting is best, but a top dress will work as well, just takes a little longer.

DD
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
16,526
Reaction score
3,739
I never check my run off and don't worry about it. I ph everything that goes into my soil to 6.5.
 

techrons78

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
435
Reaction score
3
I never check my run off and don't worry about it. I ph everything that goes into my soil to 6.5.[/QUO soTE]

Yes I try and stay around that range...just. calibrated my ph metter..they where both off a bit one was .8 off the other was .1.1..so hopefully that's is all that, was
 

zem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
3,245
Reaction score
614
bacterial activity in the soil can lead to PH fluctuations, so you need lime to neutralize it, then set your feeding at 6.5, this makes sense imo
 
Top