New grower needs help with a few things

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nach22

Reaction score
Hey guys,
This is my first post as i am new to the fourm but I've been reading it for a few weeks and like the fact that i can talk to some informed growers to get some advice.

I just started growing my first plants about a week ago. I just dropped a few seeds in a plastic container with soil and put a flouracent light over it and now i have 8 2 inch plants. My plan is to eventually switch these plants to a hydro system. My first question is how long should i wait before i switch them over, and can i even do this?? Here is my plan for they hydro system. I am planning on getting a few 5 gallon buckets and putting about 4 gallons of water/nutrient solution (thinking of using MaxiGro and MaxiBloom dry nuetrients, are these strong enough??) then putting a standard fish tank air pump at the bottom. Then i'm going to place a circular peice of styrafoam so that it floats on the water/nutrients. With holes cut in the styrafoam i am going to place strayfoam cups with holes in them filled with peralite growing medium in the cut holes. I read about this set up online but has anyone actually done it or heard of it working? Also I am looking to purchase a 250 or 400 watt hps light with ballast anyone know where i could find one online. Thanks a lot guys and happy smoking.

-Nach

Gen. Hydro makes "maxi-bloom" and "Maxi-Gro". I use the maxi-bloom on dirt. but if I was going hydro. I'd probably go with there Flora series 3-part mix. put the hydro guys will steer you better.
I would get a 400W HID. you'll be happier. I use a 250W due to my area. but I would recommend a 400W any day to someone setting up. you will outgrow a 250W.
I'll let the hydro guys help you out the rest of the way.

Check out. insidesun.com
I was very happy with there service and prices.

-Jezek