newbie question - outdoor grow with coco coir

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chucker8

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to growing and had a question I hope to get some help with.

A few months back a friend gave me a few seedlings that were in small plastic cups. I began researching on how to take care of them. I learned a lot from youtube, so I created my a new medium to transplant the seedlings to - coco coir and perlite. I buffered the coco using Cal-mag and began feeding the Coco Canna A and B products.
Being new to all of this I later learned that the coco medium and liquid nutrients are more designed for hydro/indoor growing ?
I am strictly outdoor planting.

So for a few weeks I fed the liquid nutrients to the plants in the back yard (in 3 gallon containers). Just a few days ago I transplanted into new 5 gallon containers using a mix of 33% coco, 33% perlite, and 33% horse manure (aged).

My question is, do I still continue to feed the liquid nutrients? Or should I stop because there's now manure in there. Also, I read the rainwater is bad for coco plants since it will flush out the nutrients. Is this still the case?

Thanks for any advice/feedback!

welcome aboard chucker8---lots of information here on soil mixes---may i suggest staying away from advice on youtube just cause you have a 50/50 chance on getting bad info---in my experience a straight coco medium does best on a drip system---and a heavy rain OD could flush the nutes if you were in straight coco---the manure quality is relevant to whether you should be adding additional nutes right now---i would let them settle in to their new pots for a week---just plain h2o if they need a drink---check the ph level and get an NPK soil test kit before before feeding again

great, thankyou. I've been checking the PH and its pretty high (alkaline) - approx 7.5.