Watering Kwerstchun ...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Billy Bagseed

Reaction score
Hey gang! I've just begun the second week of bloom and my Ladies seem to be extra thirsty. I have many buds beginning to form (I freaked out thinking they had all hermied on me. but no.) and have my canopy just about evened out. I vegged these leggy sativas for 8 whole weeks(total noob. not in such a hurry for finished product so much as the journey getting there) so they're all pretty big for their age. heh While in veg I fed twice a week (coco/cloth pots) and watered as needed between feedings. I always added Cal/Mag to my ph waterings but not in feedings. I have used no Cal/Mag since switching to 12/12 + bloom nutes ... and with my undivided attention they appear to be getting along nicely.
Being a big fan of "If it ain't broke ..." but also a subscriber to the notion of proper planning ... I pose the query: "To Cal/Mag or NOT to Cal/Mag during flowering? That is my question."
Thanks!
ps I DID flush before flipping.bj

Cal mag is necessary in flower. Its something that is usually overdosed by beginners, myself included. Look for signs of overdose and be careful not to over do it.

I don't use Cal Mag. I use GH 3 Part and find I don't need it. I grow in soil.

The answer to the calmag question is:
How hard is your tap water? Most folks don't actually need it. But if you have very soft water, or run RO because your tap water sucks, or run in coco where the medium scavenges it... then yes. I use it sort of casually here n there (canna coco/peat blend + compost) when I notice the river level is super high from heavy rain or snowmelt because my tap water comes from a surface source and when it's super diluted by precipitation, I add some minerals back. So whether you strictly NEED it depends mostly on your water quality.