Whats wrong ? I'm suffocating..

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

essence25

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've been smoking weed for about 8 years.
I usually smoke only at night and after 8-9pm never in the day time.

My intake a single puff from my small water bong about a half pencil eraser of fine grinded weed. 3-4 puffs per night.

All was good until a few weeks back when I started to experiece this suffocating feeling right after the high starts.
I feel out of breath and unable to speak or do anything physical while the high is peaking. I feel a heavy, and deep pressure in the lungs and left chest area and any effort movements makes my heart speed up to 120-125 bpm and I suffocate more.

I'm 6.1 225lbs good build (not fat looking) and some workout when I feel like it.
Generally sedentary. I was a bodybuilding athlete a few years back but took it slow lately.

You're thinking "Panick attack!" well I had experienced some before but this is different. This feel more like a onset symptom.

I feel as if I'm not processing the air properly, breathing is satisfactory but a heavy feeling of suffocation is there, best I can describe it. And of course limited physical activties due to the heart racing very fast if I try any stair climbing etc. Let me put it this way, I can get my ass kicked by a school girl in this state, thats how heavy I feel.
As soon as the high is over I feel normal again and able to run up the stairs etc. It goes away as fast as it comes. I don't believe I have asthma or any respiratory problems that I'm aware of. These symptoms can be even more aggravated if I smoke on an extra full stomach. I also get pains in the back side where my stomach is and around the spleen sometimes right after smoking.

I'm not a beginner and I don't freak out on a bad trip. This is very new to me and Its making me worry that I have something wrong with my lungs/heart..