Wiring up an extractor fan-Electrical advice please

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Delta9

Psychonaut
Reaction score
I was given a small Manrose wall/ceiling extractor fan and rather than connect it to my houses fixed wiring as per the manual, I would like to connect it to length of extension cord and a plug for an additional exhaust in my grow tent.

So I have a terminal block with:
Terminal 1-live supply in
Terminal 2-neutral supply in

My question is-what do I with the ground wire from the extension lead?
Is it ok to leave it disconnected on the fan end?

According to the manual -"This fan is double insulated and does not require an earth".
I guess I am just being cautious and checking here first.
Hopefully some "Sparkies" out there can shed some light on this for me.

I am a plumber, not a sparkie, but I do wire a bunch of my own stuff like fans and adding outlets. I would go ahead and get an extension cord with a ground and connect the ground. Since it does have the 3 leads, even though it says that it does not need grounding, if there is a grounding wire in the fan, I would wire it up to a cord with a ground.

Yeah if the fan has a ground wire then use it. If the fan doesn't have a ground wire then just terminate the ground wire in the cord that you are using and put a small piece of black(electrical) tape over it and seal it inside of the connector housing.

black = live one
white = neutral
copper or green ground you can use a small sefl tapping screw to attach to the frame of the fan not the motor or if you would rather sounds like you can leave it out but for the safety that a single screw adds .

OK-so the fan itself DOESN'T have a ground wire-but my extension lead does.
So terminating it inside the cord at the fan end is best?
I'll do that. Cool:)