Hydro vs Aeroponic

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Super Silver Haze

Reaction score
i am new to Hydro and befor i do my first grow i have a question. which is more time consuming in keeping the system clean Hydro or Aero. i eventually want to do an Aeroponic system with my nutrient tank outside of the grow space. i like the DIY SCROG setup that The Hemp Goddess has but removing the lid to sit aside when changing/cleaning the resovoir is cumbersome bucause i am disabled. i believe that an Aero set-up might be easier when changing the Nut. Res. because i could just disconnect the irrigation tubing and i wouldnt have to handle the plants. this seems an easier way but i would like to hear what others with experience have to say. i would also use SCROG & LST with the Aero set-up. as this is for personal medical use i dont plan on growing no more than 6 plants. my goal would be to stagger their growth to harvest two plants every 30-45 days.
also, does Hydro or Aero have less issues with bugs or disease compared to soil?
i just bought a two 300 watt CFL 2700 k that only uses 62 watts of power for $15 each. it is the biggest CFL i've seen, 4" dia x 9" length, built in ballast and is uses a regular light socket. 6 sq ft grow space / 24 cu ft total.
thanks

SSH:stoned: & :confused2: :watchplant:

well... i am partial to dwc. i have never used an aero. i think dwc is probably the easiest.. i had no bugs with this last grow.
the lights you got will be great for veg but no where near enough for flower,especially with 6 plants.
good luck to ya.

Aeroponic is a touchy system. It is more for the advanced grower. It requires much more of your time. Nutes need to be pretty much spot on. Water temp. & so on need to be right. BUT, when you learn it & understand it. It is I think the best way to grow. It is geared more for quaility gorwers than quainity growers. I use an AeroFlo2 system. I love it. Later Man