1st time grow-Leaves curling under & sick-looking on top-Please help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skeevywonder

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newb on a first time grow and looking for a little insight. I'll describe it to you because I'm not in a 420 friendly location and I was warned against continuing to take and post pics. I have 3 plants all flowering, the oldest has been for a little over 2 months. Its been slow I'm told because theres not enough light (forced to use CFLs and grow right in a closet due to budget constraints) but its budding ok under the circumstances.

Problem is, at the top of all three plants the leaves are looking almost dead, very dry, thin and curled under, even the buds look like theyre affected, very sparse. I've always been under the impression the top cola is where the biggest, densest buds should be on the plant but I have fuller, definitely healthier looking buds going down the plants and the leaves start looking healthy again maybe 1 quarter of the way down each plant. Whats wrong??

Common sense says the light and heat is damaging the top of the plant but I've been told over and over CFLs must be kept close & dont generate a lot of heat, and I've already seen what happens when i kept the lights too far away. Help if you can, thanks in advance.

We need pictures. It is safe to post your pics directly here. The servers are in Amsterdam.