400 watt Hps too Hot, need advice on fans or cooling ideas.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigjayzizzle

Reaction score
i have one plant flowering under an 400 watt hps and its my first time using a hps. the plant was doing good for a while but has stopped growing for a few days as i am seeign signs of either a nute burn or slight overwattering. the hps is a few feet above the plant and the walls are covered in mylar and i have a fan in the room but the temps are still high. should i try and get a big fan in addition to the smaller fan to keep temps down? the room sixe is approx. 3ft by 2ft in my closet.

You need cool air going into the closet and hot air going out to cool it. Some people run their lights at night during the summer to help with the heat thing. What are the temps getting to? Is the closet completely light tight during the dark time?

Your room is about the same size as mine. I have a 5 inch 120v electric fan that keeps it nice and breezy in there....

as Hemp God has stated....fresh air in (low) and hot air out(high)..

what kind of exhaust are you useing?....Im afraid a fan blowing on them is not enough..JMO...Good luck

Use a tempered glass cage and cool the cage with a separate fan, exhaust the hot hair out of the room. This will both lower the room temperature and let you place your lamp closer to your plants without actually cooking them.

you either need to make a cool tube,or get a air cooled hood.keep the fan running on the tops of the plants.use some duct,and a couple duct fans and make it so ones pushing the hot air out of the closet,and make it so ones pulling the fresh air in.just be happy you only have a closet,im dealing with keeping a whole bedroom cool.either way,probably one of the hardest things to take care of when growing indoors with HID's