Best Hydro set up for 24 plants?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrNorCal

Reaction score
Hey everyone it's nice to be around people who enjoy this plant as much as I do. I've done hydro a couple times before, using an NFT system. There were only 3 plants per tray, but outgrew the system very fast. I would like to try something else now. I was wondering what would be the best system for 24 plants. I like the setup where each bucket has it's own individual pot, and their all connected to a 55 gallon drum, but that seems like it would pe a pain to wash 24 buckets every grow, plus rocks. Then there is the big ebb and flow trays. I just want some opinions from others experiences using both and what would be better in terms of yeild, ease of maintenance, reliability, and any other factors I haven't listed. I have a 10'X10'X9' room. Thanks!

Im no pro ! but a nice little set up IMO would be a 4x4 botanicare tray, put your girls in 6in Growdan Delta blocks, get a 75 gallon resi, get urself a water pump and an air pump and a couple of air stones. Set it up on a flood and drain watering system and whatever you choose for lights and cooling/ ventalation is your choice ? Thats just kind of a rough draft on everthing
but im sure if you have grown before you get the picture !

Take care and be safe !

Thanks for the reply Chris. Will 4X4 be enough for 24 plants? I'm not into sea of green, so I will probably need more trays. Do you know how many plants I could comfortably fit on a 4X4 tray?

Ummmmm..... lets see ? I think it depends on what your growing, I am doing a SOG so as we speek so I have 30 girls in veg in one 4x4 !
But as they get bigger I was gonna split them up 15 in each tray so they will be able to get more light to the lower buds once in flower ? like I said thuogh, I am no pro by any means ! but ther are a few arround here so im sure someone will have some more answers for you