is the 250 gonna cut it?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
the problem is i'm a college student still pretty much living off of mom and dad's money. that means they pay the electricity bill, and are likely to notice if a bill price spike occurs. that being said here's the setup.

i tried growing with 156total watts of cfls in a 1' by 2.5' cabinet on some bagseed. the plants got about a foot tall and now i'm flowering them so i can sex them out.

i want to set up my next grow room in my closet and make a space 4' by 1.75' wrapped in mylar. i wanna try a staggered grow with some autoseeds, prolly ak47. i want to get a high output 250 watt hps. it should only put out another 7-10 bucks in electricity a month. unfortunatly i know its not ideal for a room that size.

so my question is would the 250 still be sufficient considering the small nature of the autoflowering plants?

I plugged your dimensions into a light calculator.

Minimum Lighting 25 watts Per Square Foot
Lighting
The minimum recommended lighting for your area is 150 watts
Ventilation
The minimum flow rating of your fan should be 0.0 Cubic Feet per Minute (CFM)
Power Requirements
This setup will require 1.6 amps to be available at all times for safest operation*

Optimum Lighting 40 watts Per Square Foot
Lighting
The optimum reccomended lighting for your area is 240 watts
Ventilation
For optimum ventilation the flow rating of your fan should be around 0.0 Cubic Feet per Minute
Power Requirements
This setup will require 2.6 amps to be available at all times for safest operation*

Maximum Lighting 60 watts Per Square Foot
Lighting
The maximum reccomended lighting for your area is 360 watts
Ventilation
Going this way you will require a fan with a flow rating of at least 0.0 Cubic Feet per Minute
Power Requirements
This setup will require 3.9 amps to be available at all times for safest operation*
Additional Comments