Anybody doing any green work around the house

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snuggles

I was there...he inhaled
Reaction score
So has anyone done anything "green" to the house. I am just getting into it, got myself a house about 2 years ago and I love DIY it is so gratifying when you are done. I have done a couple things, none rea; big but it's a start and that's OK for now...if I ever get money the sky is the limit.

I have built a deck and all of my garden beds and features out of salvaged wood, even got some nice big railroad ties. I have also completed my rainwater irrigation and the gardens love it, it's very basic but it works great, and perfect for the poor,am IMO. Oh and on a real small scale I actaually use my MJ hydro roots to tie stuff down in the gardens, and it's simple and all but it's still fun.

Share what you have done, even if it's something small like me, small is good too and maybe we can all get some ideas from each other. I am dying to hear more about solar panels if anyone has done that. Small or big share it with us...

I started a compost bin,:holysheep:

also made a raised herb garden, using left over 4x4's I had given to me.

also working on making a worm farm to get my own casings from, my grampa did this back in the 70's it was very cool. he used a big old metal cooler, left the hindged lid on, drilled holes in the bottom (for drainage)and covered holes with fine stiff screen(to keep the worms from escaping) then he buried the cooler to its lid, so you could open and close lid. he made air holes and filled cooler with mom's fine black compost and added worms. man that stuff was the best for gardens. he made the farm because he fished all the time and this way he had a fresh supply of worms and mom had their poo for her plants. win win! I remember him just dropping food scraps into also.lol