Stretch or no stretch question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

First Time Caller

Reaction score
Like I've said before, I'm not embarrassed to say I'm new at growing because if the shoe fits, wear it.

I have some of this information in my grow journal but I do have a specific stretch question so I'd like some of you more experience growers comment on these specific pictures.

All three white widows are mirror images of each other. Here are some specifics about the grow so you know the conditions.

They are under 24/7 lighting with exhaust fan and circulating fan which moves the leaves lightly. Min/Max temperatures in the grow box have been 73F(23C)/77F(25C).

I've tired to minimize stretch on my white widows by keeping the cfls up close and personal. The lights are never more than an 1.5"/4cms away from the tops of the plants. Also, the plants are always centered between two bulbs.

I've resisted the temptation to nute based on what I've read, mostly from this site. They are transplanted in 5:1 ocean forest/light warrior mix. They are receiving about 500ml (one pint) of distilled water every three days.

All three white widows are 16 days post breaking the ground and about an hour ago they were just short of 6" (15cm) tall. Their width is right at 11" (28cm)

Here are the pictures. The first two show the new growth in 6"(5.9cm). The third shows looking directly down on the 11"(28cm) width. Fourth is a close up shot of the main showing the new growth.

I can check on these plants almost anytime of the day and can readjust the light height in 1/2"(12/13mm's) increments.

Should I move the lights up a little and try to stretch them a little. Leave the light alone, as they will stretch during flower, give them away to someone on this list and start over again(sorry, the smell of the grow box is fantastic:hubba:..they aren't going anywhere) or just quit :watchplant:.