Adjusting soil pH

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alistair

Reaction score
Today I was inspecting my plants. They're all doing well. However, upon closer inspection, I noticed that one plant might be having some slight pH issues. I have no camera, so therefore, no pics. At any rate, it was time to water it with plain water anyway,so I simply gave it a mild flush with a gallon of water, pH 6.1 (Meter wasn't properly calibrated!). I normally don't measure runoff pH, because I'm not good at it. Well, since I had at least half a gallon of runoff (With meter properly calibrated this time.), I decided to strain it through a paper towel as I poured it into an empty jug. I shook it up before pouring into the jug, and afterward as well. I then, proceeded to measure the pH of this runoff. It was at 5.9. Now, I don't know if that is an acceptable way to measure runoff, or not, but I'm assuming the soil is too acidic. Remember, the pH of the plain, RO water going in was 6.1. The runoff was 0.2 lower, at 5.9.

I've read that some people adjust the pH by adding solution at 7.1, for example. They do this believing that since the actual pH of 5.9 is off the target (6.5, let's say) by 0.6, they need to adjust the solution 0.6 more than 6.5, giving 7.1.

For some reason I don't like the above idea. If indeed my soil is too acidic, I prefer to correct the problem by simply watering with the proper pH. However, until now, I have been watering with properly pH'd water. The meter is normally calibrated.

I'm not even sure that my assumption is right, because I'm no good at measuring runoff pH. But if the soil is a bit acidic, then what should be done?

Today is the only time that the meter wasn't properly calibrated. A battery came loose, and I plugged it back in, without thinking about its calibration.