pH and NPK Testers/Testing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NewbOldster

Reaction score
Seeing as I'm brand new to this growing game, and I'm also as yet unsure how much energy I'm willing to devote to it, (but want to 'do it right' when-and-wherever possible) I have a question about pH meters/testing.

I have two methods I'm using right now, but neither are offering me any kind of affirmation of reliability and/or accuracy.

One is a Rapitest Digital Soil pH Meter - even brand new out of the box it has always read 7.0 - no matter whether I check my outdoor garden soil or my sole potted cannabis plant soil or runoff water from feeding. I've even tried it in tap water, purified drinking water, distilled water, and I even tried it in dish soap - 7.0 pH. New batteries twice over had no effect, either. Something tells me it's worthless junk.

The other method I use is a HoldAll Soil Test Kit (757860) - it has vials you mix soil and a powder in to determine pH as well as separate powders and vials for testing N,K,P, which are then compared to colors on a chart. That one has shown pretty consistent pH levels of around 6.5, slightly acidic. It matters not whether I've fertilized (I've used both OsmoCote and Miracle Grow on separate occasions when I've fed) recently or not.

My question I guess - is there a reliable, easy-to-use pH tester that won't break the bank, and if so what brands/types are the most accurate and reliable? What do you fine folks use? Also what do you folks test for? I'm not sure yet which growing medium I'll actually use either, but once I've decided that, I'll want to check it accurately and reliably.