To top or not to Top?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I 've got shiva plants -- my old roomate says that topping is the way to go -- then again some say that topping is not always a good thing -- The plants are doing well in spite of me -- since I'm new at this -- I have not topped, figured the less I have a sharp cutting blade around the plants -- the safer for both of us -- The plants are 2' now and they are feminized -- What should I do -- anybody know how this strain reacts -- let me know and I could sure use a drawing to make sure I'm topping correctly -- how many toppings should you do to one plant at a time -- peace -- Mr. Potato Head.

I've had good results from topping, especially in hydro, however some strains dont handle it well

Thanks for the reply -- I don't suppose you could draw a diagram of -- I'm just not sure where to actually make the cuts? I have a sativa strain coming on as well -- I think it will probaly need more pruning? Mr. Potato Head -- P.S. -- looking to do a little trading of seeds -- looking for juicy fruit -- I have fresh feminized Shanti Shiva to offer -- let me know

Topping is really up to you. It'll make the plant wider, but give you smaller buds. If you leave it, you'll get less buds, but bigger. I all really evens out. It's just a matter of how much room you have.

Make the cut betweent the top, and second set of leaves. As close to the lower set as you can get. Make it a diagonal cut. Only cut the stalk, not the leaves. Do this in the early hours of the light cycle, not when it's too hot.

Thanks for the simple explain -- If you have enough room -- no need to top -- I like simple -- Mr.Potato Head.