Harvesting questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyndre

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm well into the 7th week of flowering of my first grow - so, it's getting about that time.

I've read most of the standard harvest info/stickies/etc, watched the movies on youtube, etc, but I still had a couple harvesting questions:

First, most of what I read suggests harvesting the entire plant at once... but, I've read a few things on forums and whatnot that suggest partial harvests can be pretty useful - harvesting only the really mature buds at the top first, letting the lower buds get more weight/etc before picking.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Partial harvest vs full plant?

I'm a rookie, so I'm curous how it would be done without stressing the plant out too much. Do you just cut all the buds off that you want; or harvest branch by branch; or even just lop the stem off halfway up (or whatever).

This kinda ties into my next question. I've also read in a couple places that some people often sample a bud every week or so when determining when to harvest to help gauge getting the right "high."

Now, I know all the basic harvest schtuff, red hairs, amber trichs, etc... but I was wondering if anyone else sampled to gauge harvest time and, if so, how bad that would stress the plant. (if it matters, my plant is over 4' tall, so there's a lot of "meat" there)

Thanks in advance for any responses.

-cyn

I am all for harvesting the plant all at one time, but I'm sure you'll get as many responses as people. I don't even cut the roots off until plants are dry, let alone cutting off particular buds.

I harvest all at one time. Hang the plant upside down after trimming it.. some don't trim till dry.

Only reason why i do it this way is because i don't believe in handling the buds alot. Anyways... 7 weeks in , you still got a week or two before harvest.